Rainbow Bridge

File_000 (3)

While out with the kids today I came across this “rainbow bridge”; even on a very dull grey day it shimmered (the mobile phone pic doesn’t do it justice). It was designed as “a place for quiet contemplation“, the plaque notes: “Here, through the coloured glass, you cannot help but view the living world differently“. We are told: “As you enter the rainbow bridge you leave behind something of the ordinary world and begin a journey to a very special and personal space“. I’m not sure this entirely held true for me (though two pre-schoolers somewhat limit space for personal reflection), but it triggered two vague ideas. The first was about the impact of colour, the way it changes how we look at a view. In particular the array of colours makes a big difference, one colour has one impact (e.g. blue is cold, red is warm) but several colours together has an uplifting effect, a childlike innocence which is always associated with rainbows. At the end of I&P I experimented with pink dots on the landscape; I have been continuing these experiments, but now I wonder if I could play about with colour in a much more dynamic and colourful way. Rainbows also have connection with mythology, pots of gold, leprechauns etc which might be an interesting hook to explore as mythology and its impact on the way we view landscape fascinates me.

The second idea was around bridges as a symbol. This particular bridge was based upon a Norse concept of a rainbow bridge between Earth and the Gods. It’s a lovely visual, and one which I am sure I have also seen in Christian art, ascending to heaven on a rainbow. Bridges are fundamentally functional, yet they are powerful symbols of crossing, linking, coming together. I always linger when I walk across a bridge; I immediately chose a bridge for my text exercise, and a bridge was a key feature in my childhood memories discussed here. Making bridges is also a fond memory for me, placing stones in the stream to walk across it (despite always wearing wellies that would have allowed me to walk across!) I love photographing bridges, and I’m sure there must be a project there somewhere, something to keep in mind as I continue my intended development as a walking artist.

 

Leave a Reply

