Transitions – update 1

I have been working on my two ideas for assignment six for a couple of months now. I have plenty of interesting images, but I confess I’m no further forward yet in my ideas about how either of these could be presented as a series.

Haunted house

This location has already witnessed significant changes: the plants have grown into a wilderness, then been chopped back dramatically, building materials have come and gone, and what appeared to be a shelter for sleeping was briefly erected. What is emerging, as I expected, is a battle between nature and mankind, the brief intervention of the latter needed to keep the former under control. I will be particularly interested to see how it plays out over the winter months when the problem of excessive plant growth is not so significant.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tombstone

As intended for the past two months I have placed flowers at this grave, and returned a few days later to re-photograph. On both occasions the flowers have been on the floor dead, almost invisible in the image. The change in weather and lighting conditions is at present more interesting than the flowers I think, but I am hopefully that as I continue to place flowers this will have more significance as a routine form of remembrance that is itself so quickly forgotten.

I have been unable to find any information about Martha Pocock online or in the library, next stop is the parish church records when I have some spare time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

